ICC Digital Library

Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits


The Working Party would like to take this opportunity to thank all National Committees and others for their participation in this work. Over 2000 comments were painstakingly examined and analysed and, in so doing, the WP was able to obtain an insight into problems and practices worldwide - this proved to be of great value and assistance in completing this work.

In particular, the WP would like to thank the following National Committees, Associations, and Organisations and individuals, by name.

1 ICC National Committees:

Australia, Austria, Colombia, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

2 Associations and Organisations:

Akbank (Turkey), Antiochian Commercial Bank, Asociación de Bancos del Uruguay, Association of Banks in Singapore, Association of Cyprus Commercial Banks, Associazione Bancaria Italiana, Banco Bancoquia (Colombia), Banco Anglo Colombiano (Colombia), Banco de Bogota (Colombia), Banco do Brasil S.A., Banco del Estado (Colombia), Banco Nacional de Cuba, Banco Popular Español, Banco Sabadell (Spain), Banco Union Colombiano (Colombia), Bank Association of Slovenia, Bankhaus Trinkaus & Burkhardt (Germany), British Bankers' Association (Trade Facilitation Consultative Group), Canadian Bankers' Association, Central Hispaño (Spain), Chemical Bank (USA), Citibank (USA), Clearing Bankers Association (South Africa), Courtaulds Export (UK), Den Danske Bank (Denmark), Deutscher Sparkassenund Giroverband (Germany), DG Bank (Germany), Emlak Bankasi (Turkey), FELABAN (Federation of Latin American Banks), Finansradet (Denmark), Foreign Exchange Dealers' Association of India, Forex Club Argentino, German Banking Federation, German Savings Banks Organisation, Hellenic Bank Association, The Hong Kong Association of Banks, Internationale Nederlanden Bank, Israel Discount Bank, Japan Foreign Trade Council, Nederlandse Vereniging van Banken, Nordbanken (Sweden), Overseas Union Bank Ltd (Singapore), Serfin Financial Group (Mexico), State Bank (Colombia), Swiss Bank Corporation, T.O. Lee Consultants Ltd (Hong Kong), Texas Commerce Bank N.A. (USA), Turk Ekonomi Bankasi (Turkey), Udruzenje Banaka Jugoslavije, Unibank (Denmark), United States Council on International Banking, Inc., Westpac Banking Corporation (Australia)

3 Individuals:

Ferdinand Müller, Technical Advisor, ICC Banking

Commission, Deutsche Bank AG (Germany)

Bernard Wheble, CBE (UK)

Charles del Busto, Chairman, ICC Banking Commission

Sia Chee-Hong, Overseas Union Bank Ltd. (Singapore)

The WP would also like to express their appreciation for the assistance of

- Stefan Draszczyk, former Head of Banking Division, ICC Paris

- Carlos Velez-Rodriguez, Head of Banking Division, ICC Paris

- Secretaries, ICC Paris

Bob Mansell and Sue Davis, The Hongkong and Shanghai

Banking Corporation, Ltd. ( London)


- Members of the ICC Banking Commission